What is The Premier League Cup

arsenal flag

It is a renowned tournament that was launched by Premier Leauge for the Under-23 sides. The match was established in the 2013-2014 season.

Initially, it was organized for the Under-21 teams. In 2016, the management changed the age range and raised the maximum age limit to 23.

Today, it has incorporated numerous changes after adopting the Champions League format. It has a large fan base, both from England and across the entire world. It has helped raise new talent and enhance competition in general.

premiere league cup infographic

Facts about the Premier League International Cup

In Europe, there is a wide variety of competitions that aim at enhancing competition in the football arena. It has played an integral role in creating and facilitating the development of matches in a bid to promote talents and unity amongst the players and fans.

Today, the Category One academies can now showcase their skills after the introduction of the International Cup. This award allows Category One lads to compete against top-ranked European youth sides.

This competition was introduced in the 2014/15 season to help young football talents adjust to different styles of European football.

The Competition Format

It is currently in the Champions League style of play, where the participating teams are given equal chances of proving themselves. The competition comprises of different stages which are the qualifying stage, group stage, and the knockout stage.

The main group stage consists of 32 clubs. Just like other competitions, it has exceptions to make the league enjoyable. Each of side the club is allowed to have three outfield players who are above 23 years of age.

Additionally, a team can have a goalkeeper born before 1st January 1995. This exception was passed for the 2018/2019 season.

Premier League Cup format explained

It is a competitive award that sets Under-23 sides in a bid to win the title supremacy. The competition is designed in a UEFA Champions League format that incorporates the qualifying stage, knockout stage, and group stage.

If more than 32 teams qualify for the competition, a knockout stage tournament is set between the Category 4 and 3 clubs in a bid to determine the clubs to join Category 1 and 2 in the group stage. The competition is split into eight groups with four teams each—the top two teams in each group advance to the knockout stages.

The Premier League Cup winners

Since the competition was incepted in the 2013/14 season, six teams have managed to reign as the supreme champions.

In the 2013/14 season, Reading side defied the odds and managed to take it home. In 2014/15 season, Southampton Under-23 teams showcased their expertise and took all the glory. West Ham United emerged took the glory of the 2015/16 season whereas Swansea City won the 2016/17 season.

The 2017/18 season proved competitive, but Aston Villa defied the odds and emerged the champions. Currently, Everton is the reigning champions.

The leading partners of the Premier League Cup

coca cola

It is an iconic title that is facilitated by EA Sports, who are the leading partners. Some diverse stakeholders offer efficient support to ensure teams that qualify are well prepared to showcase a thrilling entertainment.

Besides EA Sports, other vital facilitators include but are not limited to:

  • Barclays
  • Coca-Cola
  • Tag Heuer
  • Cadbury
  • Nike
  • Panini
  • Avery Dennison

Barclays is the official bank used by the competition, whereas Cadbury represents the official snack. Despite being launched less than six years ago, this award has gained much popularity.

Is the Premier League Cup responsible for the first-team experience?

It is also termed as the Under-23 tournament, primarily focuses on intensity, physicality, and technicality of modern football. The youths are given the chance to showcase talents and experience in the field and the boardrooms.

This cup has been playing a pivotal role as its responsible for most of the upcoming skills in the English Premier League – hence giving the first-team experience and taste. Here, the factor of promotion and relegation also plays out. It presents 15 teams, number One offers one team, and the Championship eight teams.


Each tournament has unique rules that determine how a tournament is conducted. Each club participating in the competition must host over three matches at their home stadium during the entire season.

The rule was implemented to enhance the matchday experience and the home advantage factor. The member clubs or academy training grounds are permitted for the staging of more than three home matches in the entire season.

Today, there are a wide variety of football leagues offered by the sportsbook in the gaming arena.


What is the Premier League Cup called?

This knockout soccer competition os also known as the Carabao Cup..

How much is the Premier League worth?

In 2018 it totalled a revenue of roughly €15bn.

Who won most league cups?

Liverpool FC has the trophy 8 times since 2003.